Greens/EFA Bureau Proposal

12.04.2018

Future appointments of senior management positions in the European Parliament: Elements for Reform

- The Secretary General of the European Parliament shall be appointed by the Bureau of the Parliament for a five year term (with the option to be reappointed for consecutive terms).
- Directors General continue to be nominated by the Bureau of the European Parliament but their nomination shall be executed following strict rules of a transparent and open procedure. The nomination of all candidates shall be based strictly on the competence of the respective candidates and their relevant experience, preferably from a previous role as director or a role with a comparable level of management responsibility. The principles of gender balance and geographical balance shall be strictly respected.
- The nomination of Directors and all other positions junior shall take place in a non-political manner. Therefore the nomination of Directors shall no longer be taken in the Bureau of the European Parliament but shall follow the regular procedure of the European Parliament's administration.
- Staff serving in the cabinet of the acting President of the European Parliament shall be excluded from nominations to posts of Directors General and Directors in the Parliament's Administration as long as the respective President remains in office and for two consecutive years (cooling off period).